LAKE TWP.  The National Scholastic Art & Writing Awards recently announced its 2016 recipients for the North East Central Region. Thirteen student artists from Lake Local Schools received Gold and Silver Key awards plus numerous other students earned Honorable Mentions.

Lake’s winners along with winners from other districts had their artworks displayed at the Kent State at Stark's Fine Arts and Student Center building. Winners from Stark, Medina, Wayne, Portage and Summit counties were honored at a ceremony on Jan. 28 at the Kent Stark at Stark campus. Kent State is one of the partnering universities involved with the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards program.

"We’ve participated in some form in the Scholastic Arts awards for at least 22 years," said Lake Middle School art teacher Heather Boxler. "The program is a good way to promote art as a discipline and to get the amazing works of the student artists out in the public eye. We had more students participate this year than in in the past few years and we had more recognized this year."

Students won for a variety of types of artworks such as acrylic painting including landscapes of North Canton, abstract self-portraits, pencil drawings and traditional flat works on canvas and paper.

Boxler’s middle school students won awards for sculpture works. She said the students participated in a Japanese art form called sampuru or creating "false food" where clay sculptures are made to look like food.

"In Japan, restaurant owners make clay sculptures of the menu items for people who don’t speak Japanese so they can point to the item they want to order. The students had a great time working with the art form and made some great clay pieces," Boxler said.

The following students won Gold Key awards:

Conner Wertman (eighth-grader)

Kennedy Willis (eighth-grader)

There were also several Silver Key winners:

Kati Aten (sophomore)

Kristen Matheny (senior)

Amanda Loveday (junior)

Lauryn Kinsley (eighth grade)

Lake had the following students from grades 8-12 on the Honorable Mention list:

Evyn Caiazza (senior)

Kristen Vargo (sophomore)

Alex Berrios (junior)

Anika Berrios (eighth grade)

Drew DeGeorge (eighth grade)

Sophia Yoder (eighth grade)

Stanley Yerrick (eighth grade)

The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards are the nation’s longest-running and most prestigious recognition program for creative teens in grades 7–12. The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards have an impressive history dating back to 1923. Past winners include well-known names such as Andy Warhol, Sylvia Plath, Truman Capote, Richard Avedon, Robert Redford and Joyce Carol Oates.

Last year, students submitted nearly 320,000 works of visual art and writing to the Scholastic Awards; more than 85,000 works were recognized at the regional level and celebrated in local exhibitions and ceremonies. The top art and writing at the regional level were moved onto the national stage, where 2,500 works earned National Medals. National Medalists and their educators were celebrated at the National Ceremony at Carnegie Hall in New York City.

Art work from each school is submitted digitally and is online for students and teachers to view.